The uncluttered mind

Since the past few months, I have been observing the world closely and drawing my own inferences.One of my main observation subject has been my 2 year old -the twinkle in his eye, the smile on his face, experiencing pain only till its physically pains, forgetting afterwards and moving on with life…an uncluttered mind .. a free mind…

That’s when I realize that when your mind is free..everything is an experience, inhibitions go , one tries to experiment more boldly.

The rigors of life and the stress we take, has led to a mind becoming like a cluttered drawer.We have no idea what to do with all the stuff and we lose focus on important things.It is like a dense fog which settles in and takes off our mind from the present task to doing things like giving up and surfing the internet.

We regularly declutter our home or follow a clean desk policy at work , so why not we declutter our mind as well?Only then, we will find space to think of big ideas or be at peace with ourselves.

A mantra that I have been trying to follow :

Eliminate, Experiment, Experience, Enjoy , Emote

Eliminate Noise :

  • Make only essential to- do lists – Feel happy crossing off lesser items
  • Set routines in auto pilot mode like menus for food
  • Let go of past , discard memories which are cluttering your mind – This one is the most difficult though meditating and listening to music helps in this.
  • Try not to Multitask too often – Even though our managers, families and HR love that we can multitask, I feel it often bogs a person down and overwhelms in real life.Try to reduce it as much as possible.

Experiment :

I used to be a safe driver, driving on known routes, never asking for directions or using the GPS.but thats changed now…I drive on the worst gallis of Bangalore..stop and ask for locations, try to figure out the directions..I know of more routes to my home than I have known by living in the past 8 years.I am experimenting more with my clothes, looks, observe people more.I am working on creative projects and meeting new people.

Experience:Watching the rain , sitting in the park and watching the kids playing, cooking, trying new restaurants.

Enjoy: I try not to be in a hurry.I walk more often, take more stairs, participate in all functions, read more books, watch regional language movies, hold more mock tea parties with my daughter and her friends.

Emote :We dance more at home, do more silly things with the family. I am trying to talk more with my family, friends and neighbors.This is helping me vent out and not brood too much.

The uncluttered mind is a new experience for me.Will it work ?The next few months will give the answer.

What does uncluttering the mind mean to you? Are there any methods that have helped you to free your mind, be more creative, more productive?Please leave your comments below.

Screen Shot 2017-07-28 at 11.24.21 AM

Picture clicked while in the hills of Mussorie.

Leave a comment